Surf’s Up

Hey web surfers, I’m in the process of updating my website and I have a question:

12 comments

  1. AHHH I found the question. I like seeing the pictures from the persons life but also list for their body of work with a little infor to tweek my interest and want to buy the book. Its also nice to have information to get to know the author and have listings of appearances.

    Like

  2. Good Morning,
    Thanks for the opportunity to share our thoughts about your web page. I am a furry beast fan and owned by several, so I would love to see pictures of all the furry beasts and their antics. I would enjoy you sharing the things in your life that influence your wonderful writing. I also enjoy excerpts and what you would add that influenced the story.
    Gloria

    Like

  3. I like to see the fluffy animals as well but I also like to know about the inspiration behind stories and how the story was researched.

    Like

  4. I rarely go to author websites anymore. I usually get the info from following on Twitter or review blogs about books.

    However, if I do go, the main thing that irks me is when authors don’t have their series listed by number or year of publication.

    I’ve gone to author websites looking for that, trying to make sure I don’t read book three before book one and often I find that info not too clear.

    So I would say books clearly defined by year and series is what I most want from an author website.

    Also, and I can’t understand why authors do not do this, but for God’s sake, link your books to places to buy them. I’ve gone to some author’s sites and wanted to click on to a direct buy link and nothing. This means that for me the reader, I have to go searching for it maybe from different buy sites. If I really, really want the book, I will do it. But if I just came across you and your book and don’t really know you as an author, I don’t want to put all that effort into it and it’s a lost sale.

    A short bio is nice, including pics of the author and any furry family members are good too. 😀

    Like

  5. I like pics of furry family members or any others you chose to share.

    I would like info on your books, and excerpts. I would also like any series listed in order and other books by publication date. I have started series in the middle and didn’t really mind, but would prefer to read from the beginning.

    I would also like to know about your inspiration for the books, your writing process, and how you research.

    Like

  6. Furry beasts are good but excerpts are great! Also, pics of you doing appearances perhaps a vid or two of you doing readings. Upcoming publishing dates sneak peeks at works in progress….oh-did I mention furry beasts? 🙂

    Like

  7. I like fun facts about what inspired each story and interesting stuff that turned up in story research, but didn’t actually make it into the final draft. Also pictures of the people and places behind each story.

    Like

  8. I would like to see all of the following on a author page. The list is not in rank order. Thanks for allowing me to offer suggestions. Nancy

    1. Back story of the book.
    2. Series books clearly defined. Book one, book two…….
    3. Short note about books in progress.
    4. List of readings, lectures, visits to book stores or conventions. I may not live near the author but I may be on vacation in their part of the world.
    5. Short bio
    6. Since I am not interested in starting a face book account I would like info, pictures and such to be on the author page and not a note to see face book.
    7. Link to reviews.
    8. Link to vlogs
    8. Note if book is available in audio.

    Like

Comments are closed.